Skip to main content

Black Alumni Society Officers

Our Leadership

Gina Bullock Avent currently serves as the President of the NC State Black Alumni Society. She earned her B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from NC State University in 2000. Gina’s journey with the Black Alumni Society began in 2015, where she quickly became an integral part of the organization, participating actively in BAS programs. She has held significant roles including Vice President and Homecoming Co-Chair for multiple years, collaborating closely with leaders such as Courtney Simpson and Samantha Warren. Over the years, Gina has built strong relationships with BAS members and Alumni Association staff, demonstrating her dedication to the society’s mission and success.

Professionally, Gina serves as Regional Director, Integrated Facilities Management – RMS at Charles River Laboratories, bringing her leadership and strategic expertise to her role.

Matthew Williams serves as the Vice President of the NC State Black Alumni Society. A native of North Carolina, he hails from Cary and earned his B.A. in Political Science from NC State University in 2014. Williams has a rich history with NC State, having been involved in various capacities including the NC State Wake County Alumni Board and the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program.

Professionally, Williams holds the position of Executive Director for Special Initiatives at the School of Data Science and Society at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prior to this role, he was the Director of Development at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School, where he successfully implemented major gift strategies as part of the Emory 2O36 campaign.

Williams’ career at NC State was marked by roles such as Coordinator and Assistant Director of Constituency Engagement for the NC State Alumni Association, where he oversaw affinity-based alumni groups. He later transitioned to the role of Associate Director of Development for NC State’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences, focusing on securing major gifts to advance the college’s mission.


Communications Chair » Chelsea Pearson ’14
Homecoming Co-Chair » Stephanie Cogdell ’92
Homecoming Co-Chair » Courtney Simpson ’05 ’08 ’23
Membership Chair » Evelyn Douglas ’92
Scholarship Chair » Tracey Robinson ’93 ’97 ’01

Regional Network Chairs

Atlanta Network Chair» Felicia Kenan ’11
DMV (D.C., Maryland, Virginia) Co-Chair » Rhonda Long ’94
DMV (D.C., Maryland, Virginia) Co-Chair » Sharon Smith ’93
DMV (D.C., Maryland, Virginia) Co-Chair » Jasmine Cannon ’16