Skip to main content

2023 Evening of Stars Award Recipients

Our annual celebration of outstanding alumni and friends in our NC State community.

Our extraordinary alumni exemplify our “Think and Do” mindset.

The NC State Alumni Association held our 18th annual Evening of Stars gala on October 26 during NC State’s 2023 Red and White Week. The gala honors the alumni whose successes increase the value of an NC State degree and add to the university’s growing legacy of excellence, impact and service. This year’s event was hosted by Jeff Gravely ’85 and featured Associate Vice Chancellor of the Office of Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving Dr. Reshunda Mahone.

“We are all stars, and each of us has a unique story. Together, we are joined…in a beautiful constellation, to celebrate and applaud those who have accomplished, overcome odds to blaze trails, and are shining examples of NC State and our Wolfpack spirit.” — Dr. Reshunda Mahone

Below are the 2023 winners of the College Distinguished Alumni Awards, the Wolfpack Club’s Ronnie Shavlik Award and the Alumni Association Awards.

Alumni Association Awards

Lindsay Wrege ’21 and Michael Evans ’20, ’21 | Outstanding Young Alumni

Dr. Moise A. Khayrallah | Award of Merit

Diane Becton ’73 and Elwood Becton ’73 | Meritorious Service Award

College Distinguished Alumni Awards

William B. Upchurch Jr. ’91 | College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Deborah Hamrick ’81 | College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Linda L. Jewell ’70 | College of Design

Dr. Anona Smith Williams ’91 | College of Education

Adm. Daryl L. Caudle ’85 | College of Engineering

Robert E. Troxler ’83 | College of Engineering

Deborah Bell Young ’77 | College of Engineering

Richard A. Speers ’69 | College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Braden C. Holloway ’01 | College of Natural Resources

Dr. Ashley B. Hink ’05 | College of Sciences

Doug Doggett ’83 | Poole College of Management

Dr. G. Sylvester Price ’93 | College of Veterinary Medicine

Dalton L. McMichael Jr. ’70 | Wilson College of Textiles

Wolfpack Club Award

Dewayne Washington ’01 | Ronnie Shavlik Award

Click to watch all recipient videos from the 2023 Evening of Stars.